The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The Feminine Mystique » » I dreamt of Suzy Wandas last night (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Lucy Smalley
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Lucy Smalley
First, a little background of me, since this is my first post. I was a professional female manipulator and magician in the 80's. I graduated the Chavez course taught by Neil Foster, was the first woman to win Abbott's magic contest, and continued performing until 1992 or so, and then left magic for other interests.

It was at an Abbott's magic convention that I first met Suzy Wandas. Of course I was drawn to her for the obvious reasons. She called me over and congratulated me on my manipulation technique. I was intimidated. We became friends. I got to know her over the last four years or so of her life. She was no longer performing, as arthritis had set in, but we would have long talks.

She spoke seven languages, and sometimes her english was difficult to understand. She spoke of performing with her mother on the vaudeville stages, her brother who was poisoned by mustard gas during WWI. She offered me her byline "The Lady with the Fairy Fingers". She lived alone in a modest home as Zina had died several years earlier. She lived her life well, traveling the world. She had few friends, one good woman named Peg who really looked after her best interest.

So I dreamt of her last night quite vividly, we were at a family gathering, as she often came to mine on Holidays. I just wanted to honor her memory, and hope she continues to live in magic history. She was a lovely woman, much admired.
Rick Fisher
View Profile
Elite user
Rick Fisher
471 Posts

Profile of Rick Fisher
Hi Lucy! There were several of us talking about you at the shop during magic week a few weeks back - Dave Schwaning and others wondered what happened to you and where you have been?
Rick Fisher, President FAB Magic