The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Too late to do direct mail or too early? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Nash
View Profile
Inner circle
Hong Kong ~ USA
1101 Posts

Profile of Nash
Obviously it is too late to start a direct mailing campaign for Christmas party. But should I do it now to plant a seed for 2010? Or people are too busy with finalizing their christmas/NYE event to worry about new offers for 2010 at this time??
I teach leaders the magic of curiosity and empathetic communication. keynote Speaker | Seattle magician
Mystical Matthew
View Profile
Elite user
468 Posts

Profile of Mystical Matthew
I'm by no means an expert, so take this with a huge grain of salt.

I asked an experienced magician and businessman about direct marketing once. His response to me was (to paraphrase) that it comes across cheap and so are the results that you get from it.

I didn't believe him. I tried it anyway.

He was right on the money.

I don't claim to have found a "magic solution", but I'm not sure the snail mail equivalent to SPAM is the right way...

That's not to say I'll never do another mailing, but I've come to respect the fine line between permission marketing and direct marketing.
Donald Dunphy
View Profile
Inner circle
Victoria, BC, Canada
7565 Posts

Profile of Donald Dunphy
There's a lot more to the whole question, to give you an appropriate answer.

Do you have names on your mailing list, or just random businesses?

Have you mailed to them in the past, and how recently?

Are you marketing a kids / family show, or an adult show?

Do you call and qualify them somewhat, before mailing to them? Do you use a name, or a title, or just a business name?

Do you know from experience, when they usually book?

Are you talking about past customers, or people who have never booked you before?

- Donald