The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The International Brotherhood of Magicians! » » Starting a new ring (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

curtgunz
View Profile
Special user
Only 99% of users have more than
784 Posts

Profile of curtgunz
I'm about an hour south of Houston. I've visited IBM Ring #39 several times but the distance makes it impractical. Also, there are about a dozen people in my community with a budding interest in magic.

So, what is the process to charter a new IBM Ring? I've looked on the IBM http://www.magician.org/ website and found a lot of good information about joining IBM but I didn't see anything on starting a Ring.

I've been an officer in my local alley of Clowns of America International (COAI) for several years so I have some experience in this area.

I am assuming there is probably a whole packet of information that I just need to find that will answer all the questions about this.

Any links, help or advice would be great.

Thanks.
Click for Free Resources for Performers

YouTube channel specifically for family & kids show magicians. Click -- You need to subscribe.
curtgunz
View Profile
Special user
784 Posts

Profile of curtgunz
By the way, I am not currently a member of IBM so I was very limited in what I could visit on the web site.

It would make sense that a person has to be a member to start an IBM Ring but on the other hand, how can you become a member if there is not a local Ring?

If I register as a "Non-member" on the IBM site will it tell me what I need to know?

YouTube channel specifically for family & kids show magicians. Click -- You need to subscribe.
Payne
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle
4571 Posts

Profile of Payne
Why not start a non-affiliated club to begin with and then once you get it going see if the membership wants to affilliate itself with the IBM?
"America's Foremost Satirical Magician" -- Jeff McBride.
Skip Way
View Profile
Inner circle