The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Walk-by act? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

adrianbent
View Profile
Loyal user
210 Posts

Profile of adrianbent
Simple question... do you think a magic walk-by act can play, or do you think walk-bys are best suited for musicians and other artists? I'm thinking of having a table, a "magic show" sign, a tip jar, and skipping the formal start/ formal end bit. Its a stretch for my personality, its too gregarious. No ballyhoo if I can avoid it.
Or, do magic acts play best if they build a crowd and end up passing a hat?
I'm just new to starting to think about working the streets, and am saving some coin to buy a reference (probably a Cellini book, he seems to be the Man).
gaddy
View Profile
Inner circle
Agent of Chaos
3528 Posts

Profile of gaddy
Never having done one, I can only give my baseless opinion; but it seems to me that you cannot have a very successful "walk by" magic act.

A potential, money contributing, audience member cannot form any emotional reason to give money to a magician outside of the context of a rising, building act with a climax. Magic is just too visual an art.

One of the main reasons a walk by act even can work for a musician is that his audience hears, identifies, and can appreciate the music long before s/he approaches the open instrument case. Most people have already decided to give long before they get to the "man behind the music".

As people approach a magician doing magic in any given performance, they are quite likely to come in at the middle of a routine. You'd have to be some sort of magical savant to be able to "hook" someone merely passing by, enthrall them enough to stop and watch something you're already half way done with, and bring it to a strong enough conclusion to get them to throw down coin -and you'd have to do this with EVERY SINGLE PERSON walking by.

Good luck.