The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Food for thought » » Quick Explanation on Something (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Bradacal
View Profile
Special user
591 Posts

Profile of Bradacal
Quote:
On 2010-12-01 13:15, Bill Palmer wrote:
Rada -- your experience and mine have been completely different. I have never shipped anything larger than a box of CD's to Canada. I've been shipping to Canada for more than 20 years, and only began to have problems with customs after 9/11.

I don't have a problem filling out the customs forms. I've been doing that for a long time, too.

Your postal system works differently than ours does. I shipped an item to Canada yesterday. The quote at the post office "This is covered until it reaches the border. Then you are on your own." The main reason I chose to ship this item to Canada rather than have it picked up on our side of the border is that it is an item that I've had experience shipping before, and the recipient knows the problems that I have had shipping over the border.

When you say "Here is the hassle for you...filling out the extra slip and maybe having to go to the post office, that's all," then you really don't know what you are talking about. Either you think I am lying, which is an insult, or you think I'm too lazy to go to the post office, which is a bigger insult, or you have completely misread and misunderstood my answers to your basically accusatory post. It's not about filling out the extra slip. It's not about going to the post office. It's not even about standing in line at the post office for 30 minutes to an hour to ship the package. It's about whether you get it in a timely fashion.