The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Newbie routine questions / feedback (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

penitentman
View Profile
New user
Edmonds, WA
19 Posts

Profile of penitentman
Hi everyone,

I'm not entirely new to magic, but I'm new to taking it seriously and new to having goals higher than "learn a few tricks."
I'm working on a short routine that will allow me to tell a story while trying to learn slights, presentation and performance skills.
However, I'm feeling a little blocked and am hoping some kind souls will lend insight, either here or via PM.

Here's the basics of what I'm working on:

The basic theme is around having a life vision... dreaming big.

I open with a single coin vanish, rubbing coin away at finger tips, pretending it has changed to a tiny seed - "we've ground down our dreams so that our lives are just a seed of what we once thought possible". Produce by grabbing fingers with other hand or placing "seed" in open palm, depending on angles. "If we reach for these 'seeds of possibility' and hold on tight... we may just surprise ourselves..."

My original follow up was to fold the coin up in paper... "some have packed up their dreams for another time, but time burns faster than we think, taking our dreams with it..." - and burn it normally or use flash paper (have yet to try flash paper... sounds a bit scary, especially with a 3-yr-old at home). However, this doesn't seem very practical/legal in public spaces these days. (Am I wrong?)

Anyway, that would leave me clean and I would grab another coin from my pocket and switch it into a key "some have placed control of their dreams in others' hands... essentially locking up their dreams and throwing away the key..."

Other effects I have planned for the routine:
- Cut/restored string (representing "frayed" parts of our lives that we must face)