The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » It's about time I introduced myself (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jpleddington
View Profile
Loyal user
Lewisburg, PA
294 Posts

Profile of jpleddington
Hello new magic friends,

I'm pretty new to magic as a serious pursuit, and I'm very glad to have found the Café. I've already gotten a lot of inspiration -- and some very good advice -- by posting, but also by simply reading threads new and old. I look forward to learning more, and to contributing more as I learn.

My principal interest is card magic, and I'm rather old-school about it, I guess. My biggest inspiration is Dai Vernon. (I'm just fInishing up the first volume of the David Ben biography of Vernon.) As for training, I began a couple of years ago with the Royal Road, most of which I worked through before taking a bit of a break, not really knowing or understanding where to go from there. Since last fall, I've started practicing again, and with much greater seriousness. I'm working through the Card College books and also (gulp!) slowly through Erdnase. I do my best to watch as much magic as I can, and I'm hoping that, despite my full time job, I'll be able to start performing with some seriousness next year. At the moment, my performances are strictly for friends and family, or at parties. But I'm not letting this stop me from working up some well-structured shows that might be further developed into semi-professional work for strangers. I'd really like to get to the point of doing walkaround magic or close-up/parlor magic for proper audiences in the near future.

Apart from cards, I'm also working on the cups and balls and teetering on the verge of getting into ring and rope routines to break up the cardotony.

Finally, I'm in my mid-30s and so obviously not looking for a career in magic, but I must say: I love it as much as I love anything I've ever done.