The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » "Well, have you ever performed before" (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

newbstermagi
View Profile
New user
52 Posts

Profile of newbstermagi
When I call around trying to get gigs at Senior homes (I telephone places and speak to the activities manager or rec. director) They ask if I have ever performed in a senior living facility before, and I know the answer to this question: No. But(please forgive me as I talk about myself for just a second) I have almost a decade of being a performer on-stage in some capacity, I go to a performing arts High school and study Theatre. I have been doing magic seriously for a good 5 or 6 years. It is just that now, being older magic is able to be a full-time summer job for me, and I am trying to branch out to these venues. I feel like when I get these kinds of questions, they are hard to answer without making yourself sound like you've never performed in front of people as a magician before. For me, that couldn't be further from the truth. Then I feel like when I go to explain that now that I am older, I am ready to make it a part-time job. I equate it to other teenagers having "summer jobs". I guess what I am trying to convey to you guys is that although I know where I am coming from, I feel like any time I have to explain this, (about the summer job bit) I feel like I am making excuses. I want to know if there is a more professional answer to that question?
I hope I made sense, if I didn't please let me know. I will happily clarify.
Thanks for the help
Matt B.
Donald Dunphy
View Profile
Inner circle
Victoria, BC, Canada
7565 Posts

Profile of Donald Dunphy
Do you have any reference letters or quotes to share with the potential customer, even though the letters might be from customers you've had in other markets?

- Donald
Donald Dunphy is a Victoria Magician, British Columbia, Canada.
Ray Pierce