The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Key West info? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kameron Messmer
View Profile
Special user
Billings, MT
742 Posts

Profile of Kameron Messmer
Hey all! Here is my story/background/questions

I have some friends that invited me to Key West with them. I'd be the baby sitter as well. I've never been, but they suggested I make some money down there by busking. I've done some balloon animals for tips before, but not magic or anything. I've been doing magic/balloons/sideshow for about 15 years.

So what do I need to know? Ive read some info about permits,and insurance and fees and all that. Im not really sure whats current info and not. I see a few of you on here perform at key west, and I don't want to do stuff that's already there either. I do balloons, fire eating, magic, mouse traps, human block head, a little animal trap stuff, glass walking, mentalism...

Posted: Mar 17, 2012 3:29pm
Sorry, posted too quick... hate when that happens... anyways, I'd be grateful to any help you can give. I don't want to fly down there and find out I shouldnt have come, or cant perform because of rules or its too crowded, or I'm competing with a great performer. Thanks for all your help in advance!!

Kameron Messmer
Chance
View Profile
Inner circle
1385 Posts

Profile of Chance
It's over-crowded with extremely territorial local acts, the local laws are unnecessarily restrictive, and there is a permit system in place for any pitch you might like to use -- if you can even get the permit in the first place.

Call the Key West City Hall and ask about getting one. It'll be an experience.
jazzy snazzy
View Profile
Inner circle
run off by a mob of Villagers wielding
2109 Posts

Profile of jazzy snazzy
Also the spring breakers are in town this time of year.
"The secret of life is to look good from a distance."
-Charles Schulz
Dr_J_Ayala
View Profile
Inner circle