The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Making Practice Fun? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Peppin
View Profile
New user
Dallas
5 Posts

Profile of Peppin
Help! Smile

I am strictly a hobbyist magician. I love learning new stuff, I love performing, but somehow I still have to force myself to practice. I can't seem to make it as fun as the other aspects of magic. And that is the kicker, I still think practice is the most important part. Smile

So please, anyone with suggestions. I have been doing magic for about three years now. I need suggestions to make my practice sessions fun!

Thanks in advance!
Paul Menzel
View Profile
Special user
Boise, Idaho
530 Posts

Profile of Paul Menzel
That's a tough question, as I enjoy practicing!

Have you tried videotaping your practice sessions? Perhaps being able to watch your progress afterwards will give you some of the feedback you enjoy from performing (impressing yourself) and make your practice more rewarding. In the process, you can benefit from seeing points that need more work.
djvirtualreality
View Profile
Inner circle
MayfieldNew York
1347 Posts

Profile of djvirtualreality
Practice is one of my favorite things to do in magic, I am also a hobbyist. I like to practice in front of my friends and family. I get the advice I need to improve my act and get great reactions.
Life is an illusion, death is reality.
Dynamike
View Profile
Eternal Order
FullTimer
24148 Posts

Profile of Dynamike
You might want to join a magic club near you. Other magicians will watch you practice and give you advice.

Look at practice as a game. Your object is to win the game. You get a point each day for practicing at least 30 minutes. If you reach seven points in seven days you won the game.

Practice by doing other things. For example: watching television, on computer, fallen asleep in bed, talking on the phone, etc.