The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » 'Shopping Presenter' on a cruise line (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

strat1227
View Profile
Regular user
Florida
189 Posts

Profile of strat1227
Hi all,

I was contacted by someone who employs "Shopping Presenters" on cruise lines, who give presentations about specific products.

It seems like a really great job, and part of the application is to make a 5 minute demo video "selling" a product (of my choice).

I have no experience mixing magic and sales, does anybody have any advice, or suggestions on what product I could "sell" and how to go about it?

Thanks!
magicofCurtis
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles
2545 Posts

Profile of magicofCurtis
HMM interesting--
Pretend to sell old valuable coins... and you could do tricks with them Smile
strat1227
View Profile
Regular user
Florida
189 Posts

Profile of strat1227
Quote:
On 2012-10-23 14:08, magicofCurtis wrote:
HMM interesting--
Pretend to sell old valuable coins... and you could do tricks with them Smile

I considered that, or pretending to sell jewelry while doing magic with a ring (I have a really solid ring magic routine), but I'm still uncertain how to present it. The goal is to sell the product, but my "typical" presentation for magic is that the objects have some special attributes. Like if I'm doing a spellbound, or a 3-fly, or whatever with the coins I'm trying to sell, how would I fit that in with a sales pitch? Same applies to my finger ring problem, if I'm doing magical things with the ring while selling it, it could come across that I'm implying they're buying a magical prop or something
Sealegs
View Profile
Inner circle
The UK, Portsmouth
2597 Posts

Profile of Sealegs
Strat1227 wrote;
Quote:
I have no experience mixing magic and sales, does anybody have any advice

Don't.