The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Mathematical Card Tricks??? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

funnybusiness
View Profile
New user
UK
66 Posts

Profile of funnybusiness
I'm a beginner of magic and only started months ago. I began with card tricks to start off with and still trying to master some of the sleight. Actually I'm quite lost...I've learned some of the basic sleight but am not too convince whether I know them all yet.

I've seen many people recommend The Royal Road To Card Magic for card beginners. I've have a quick flick through the book in the bookshop and I think I've learned most of the sleights in the book. Should I still get the book or would you recommend somethings else??? Moreover, I'm not too keen on card tricks based on calculation because I don't feel that's real magic, it's just mathematics. Don't know what you think?? Smile

Please help, I'm pretty confused!!! I think I know something but I'm not too convinced myself?? At the same time I want to learn something new but I'm not sure if I have the right skills. I hope you know what I'm trying to say. Smile Thanks a lot.
Paul Menzel
View Profile
Special user
Boise, Idaho
530 Posts

Profile of Paul Menzel
There is often a difference between knowing a sleight and knowing the best handling. Many people can execute an overhand shuffle, but to make it truly useful in magic, there are specific finger positions, which are highly advisable that you use. It's worth picking up The Royal Road to Card Magic to be certain you are doing things "correctly" (admittedly, somewhat subjective). It will be easier to re-train yourself at this early stage if necessary than to try to break bad habits much later. True mastery will take years, not months, so keep working!

Also, there are some very good effects in the book, which are worth your attention.