The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » A matter of payment (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

joculari
View Profile
New user
Canada
80 Posts

Profile of joculari
Hello,
I did my first gig last night going table to table with a small but solid routine. The restaurant definetly wants me back and I'm really eager to return but I have one problem.

I have to speak to the manager sometime this week to decide how much I'm going to get paid. I was also asked how much do I "charge". I've never done anything of the sort before and all I've ever done was street busking.

How much would you charge for a simple restaurant gig?

I basically did some spongeballs, string and ring, coins through silk, and an elastic routine.

Thanks in advance for you advice.
MacGyver
View Profile
Inner circle
St. Louis, MO
1419 Posts

Profile of MacGyver
How did you do tablehopping without getting paid?

First off how much does your resturant charge per meal, and then figure out how much you are worth...

I think the rate is about twice the price of a meal for 2 people... so if 2 people cost about 30 bucks to eat there, then 60 dollars...

of course if you are really good, or just starting out, your price should reflect that
joculari
View Profile
New user
Canada
80 Posts

Profile of joculari
Well, my routine was solid, no one picked up any mistakes and by their reactions they enjoyed what they saw. I don't want to be cocky but I'm not bad. What I do I do well.

I'm not getting payed yet because its a comedy night thing that the restaurant is just starting. I was told to talk to the manager aftwewards to decide how much I would get paid.

Although that's really good advice. Twice the price of a meal. Sounds about right.