The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Creating routines. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Magivid
View Profile
New user
3 Posts

Profile of Magivid
Hello,

I'm pretty new to magic, and have learned quite something. Now that I have mastered these skills. I have to make a good routine. So, I was wondering if someone could give me tips.

Example: Yesterday I was on the street and I had to wait for something. So, this random kid comes to talk with me. Than I told him 'Do you want to see a magic trick?' I showed him a ring trick and it blewed his mind. I still had to wait, so I showed him another trick, that totally wasn't related to the ring trick. I just did random things.

I want to have a structure, and want to know if there is a book about routines. Or if someone could give me tip.

How long is the average routine?
Can you switch from card magic to ring magic?
How many tricks in a routine?

These are some questions of mine.
scottds80
View Profile
Special user
Victoria, Australia
730 Posts

Profile of scottds80
Hi Magivid,
Welcome to the wonderful world of magic.
Routines come in all shapes & sizes. This is my philosophy for my magic show which is parlour style..
Each effect doesn't strictly have to relate to the previous one. It is more important to have a structure that consists of an opener that shows who you are and generates a lot of interest - usually something quick & flashy. Then build your show so the interest levels continue to peak, then finish with an appropriate closer which leaves your spectators wowed!

It takes time to find quality material and discard what doesn't work for you. As for your question regarding different styles of magic, eg card effects then ring effects, that's fine. The most professional magicians do this, but they usually make a good plot to each effect so it doesn't appear as random nonsense.