The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Trick coin trickery » » Tools to soften and remill coins - by hand (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

CarpetShark
View Profile
Special user
576 Posts

Profile of CarpetShark
I've tried remilling a few halves and dollar coins, using the finest file I could purchase locally. Recently, I came across this set of 'needle files' http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B000NPUKYS/ref=s9_simh_gw_p60_d1_i4?pf_rd_m=A3DWYIK6Y9EEQB&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1BCF9CDPEQMD8XG5XT10&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1375923922&pf_rd_i=915398.

Has anyone tried these, and if so, what did you think ? An alternative may be a jeweler's saw: http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00313Q4......FIQ3K6IX

Lastly, how useful is a dremel for softening coins ? I've watched a bunch of tutorial vids on this topic, some use a dremel, others do not.
Please note that I am not a professional and therefore cannot justify the cost of having my coins done by the coin Gods.

Cheers

I eagerly await your learned response Smile
Al Desmond
View Profile
Inner circle
Secret Mountain Lair in Conifer, Co
1511 Posts

Profile of Al Desmond
Well the first thing you need to do is get the MM thickness of any of these blades. Neither ad gave had that sort of detail. I'm looking at a re-milled edge of a Lassen standing liberty and I can assure you you will never get the same edge by hand... no matter how steady you are. Using a magnifier with a CM transparency on it, it appears to be 4/10's of a MM (40 cm I believe... my metric sense gets a little fuzzy down at those microscopic measures). And I don't think that's a perfect measurement, the edge is round and I know that will affect getting a totally accurate measurement.