The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » A word of advice (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
DrewPett
View Profile
New user
33 Posts

Profile of DrewPett
Recently I've come across many posts on this site by people new in the art of magic that go something like this, "I've just bought this trick, and this gimmick, and this trick, and this and this and this, what should I get next?" and I can answer that question in one word:
Nothing.
Now many of you may say but I'm a beginner, don't I need to learn as much as I can? The answer to that simply is no. Being a magician is not just knowing how to do tricks and the secrets but lies much more in the performance of the performer. Now I understand how exciting it is to get new magic and constantly wanting to buy something new. But why buy anything new, when you already have a plethora of tricks at your disposal you've yet to master? The reason I feel qualified to give this advice is because I was in this exact position when starting magic. I would search my favorite online stores for the coolest tricks I could find and buy them. I highly regret this method. Though I now knew the methods to these fantastic effects, I lacked the necessary sleights and skills to perform them and much of the time threw the effect to the wayside. It's like trying to take a calculus class without knowing how to perform basic math such as 2 + 2 and expecting to make an A in that class.