The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Now that’s funny! » » HAHAHA.... Beginner's Guide To Comedy Magic (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Shuaige
View Profile
New user
56 Posts

Profile of Shuaige
Hi Guys,

I'm new to magic. Can anyone introduce a book on Beginner's Guide To Comedy Magic? I love to poke fun at my friends and I admit I have that little teeny weeny sense of humour in me. Any pre-requisites to learn comedy magic? Does Penn and Teller publish any books? I am from overseas and heard seen some of their performance on youtube. Thanks guys!!!

HoHo,
Lau
Sealegs
View Profile
Inner circle
The UK, Portsmouth
2597 Posts

Profile of Sealegs
Are you looking for gags or ‘tricks’ to play on your pals down the pub? or are you looking to perform an act for an audience? These two things are very different and each has next to no baring on the other. if you’re looking to entertain and have some fun with your friends then books on bar stunts would be probably be the thing you’re after. There are loads of these available. A quick search on your favourite search engine will find many and lots of free stuff on the net. Paul Zenon’s, 100 Ways To Lose A Tenner is a good place to start.

If, however, you are looking to construct a magic act with a presentational style that makes the most of whatever comedic abilities you have then Ian Keable’s book, ‘Stand Up; A Professional Guide to Comedy Magic’ would be a good investment.
Neal Austin

"The golden rule is that there are no golden rules." G.B. Shaw
harris
View Profile
Inner circle
Harris Deutsch
8812 Posts

Profile of harris
“The whole object of comedy is to be yourself and the closer you get to that, the funnier you will be.

Jerry Seinfield

I find the above true in my journey to humor and comedy.

Zen and the art of the monologue

By Sankey. Helped me.

So did the Artist way by Cameron