The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Lota soda (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

JJDrew
View Profile
Loyal user
Arizona
221 Posts

Profile of JJDrew
I've been attempting to develop a soda can or bottle that would have an "infinite liquid" effect ala lota bowl. I'd like there to be enough of this liquid to serve soda to everyone in a small audience by the end of the act. I've considered the possibility of utilizing black art, but I wondered if anybody had an idea that would result in a more self-contained prop, possibly involving the table in some way. Any ideas?
Keep in mind that it has to be something I could wash thoroughly or make easily and cheaply enough to simply use a new sterile gimmick for every performance.

I'd appreciate any input. I'm still fairly new at building magic props.
mvmagic
View Profile
Inner circle
Has written
1322 Posts

Profile of mvmagic
How about using an expanded shell? One that you can put over a real soda can and work it that way.
Sent from my Typewriter
JJDrew
View Profile
Loyal user
Arizona
221 Posts

Profile of JJDrew
Hmmmm. That's got definite possibilities. Thanks, you've sent my thinking in an entirely different direction.
Jerry the Great
View Profile
New user
20 Posts

Profile of Jerry the Great
I use a great trick in my act called Healed and Sealed Soda by Anders moden. What about starting the act with what appears to be a crushed, empty soda can. You then "heal" the can (it expands back to shape) and then magically re-seal the top so that you can pop the top and pour the contents into cups for the audience. Then you might set it aside for a bit while you perform some other miracle. When you come back, it's filled again. this could be done by possibly running a small tube (from the table) up the back of the can so that it fills slowly.