The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Have I traveled around the world to meet the girl next door? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TheRaven
View Profile
Special user
597 Posts

Profile of TheRaven
I have been an avid amateur for 40 years. This was my typical repertoire when I was 14 or 15 years old.

- Chop cup
- Color changing knives
- Brainwave deck
- Out of this world
- Prof Nightmare
- Sun & Moon (coin)
- Linking Rings
- Zombie

40 years later I am somewhat startled and intrigued that gosh darn it, those are all strong effects and I could pretty much be performing those same effects to this very day. In some sense I feel like I have traveled around the world only to meet the girl next door.

I've posted this in the "New to magic?" section as food-for-thought for beginners out there. You can "collect" magic and that is fine. But you can be a "Magician" and "Entertainer" with just a handful of effects that you work to perfection and make your own.

You may be thinking, "Linking Rings? Zombie? Those are dated and stale". I would agree with you if performed exactly the way they were 30 years ago. The challenge is to think differently and make it something new, fresh and entertaining. Case in point, my linking ring routine ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XI-sqY_XAFw ) looks nothing like it did 40 years ago, yet it is one of routines I am most proud of and gets the greatest reactions... and it has only continued to get better since I made this video of our first performance.

Karl Rabe
The Raven
Dick Oslund
View Profile
Inner circle
8357 Posts

Profile of Dick Oslund
I liked your post for the general points you made.

Here comes the "but".....But, you need to understand that you cannot "collect" MAGIC. Not only can you not collect MAGIC, you cannot buy MAGIC, and you cannot own MAGIC.