The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Writing routines for table hopping and bar magic. (19 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Pop Haydn
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles
3691 Posts

Profile of Pop Haydn
I am afraid that relying on what "feels natural" often leaves you trapped in the familiar.
Chano
View Profile
New user
54 Posts

Profile of Chano
What do you mean by that, Pop Haydn? I'm just starting out so I'm genuinely curious.
Scott Horn
View Profile
Elite user
Dallas, TX
417 Posts

Profile of Scott Horn
My take is that for some, "natural" may be a rambling or maybe frenetic style, and for others "natural" may be using a lot of "uh's, um's, "ya know's" etc. Performing magic is a performance. The perfromer needs to be "effective" in the presentation, otherwise all you offer is the visual.
Pop Haydn
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles
3691 Posts

Profile of Pop Haydn
What "feels natural" is your normal everyday personality. It is always going to feel more "natural" to you than playing a larger, more dynamic personality. You should seek to enlarge your natural personality in ways that help your performance--make it more exciting, energetic and fun. You should try to constantly enlarge your performance by being more emotionally expressive, and more enthusiastic.

The main reason I finally dropped the Whit Haydn character, which I played for 30 years, is that I couldn't find a way to make the character more expressive.

The Pop character was a way to make the performance character much larger.

The "familiar" is a trap. It is comfortable and inviting. But it leaves you where you are.
Pop Haydn
View Profile
Inner circle
Los Angeles
3691 Posts

Profile of Pop Haydn