The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » What now? (4 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicube
View Profile
New user
France, near the border to Switzerland.
4 Posts

Profile of magicube
Okay, I've been doing magic for a year now and I realised I haven't learned anything new that actually helps me performing my tricks (other than small details) in a month or two.
I know several different color changes, double lifts, shuffles, sleights and flourishes. I also like doing spungeball tricks and even thought I'm not too good at it I like invisible thread(working on that^^). I've bought rigged packs of cards and gimmicks and most of them I don't use much. I'm slowly working on my routine but I want to improvise in a better way and practice more before starting a routine and performing for an audience.
I was wondering if anyone could give me advice on good tutorial links or places to look for them so I can learn sleights (like the pass) directly in the right way. Any other advice? Should I get into an other type of magic (like cloth for example)? Are there any other DVD's or Gimmicks REALLY worth getting (and not too bulky so I can always carry them with me)? I also have a lot of time on my hands for a week and the I can't practice for a week or two so I want to get the most out of it, should I practice the same sleight all day and only go to the next one once I can do it perfectly or do a bit of lots of sleights each day?
Thank you in advance for your answers!
Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else.
Dougini
View Profile
Inner circle
The Beautiful State Of Maine
7130 Posts

Profile of Dougini
Welcome to the Café, Magicube! I think Dick Oslund needs to bring his words of wisdom here...

Doug
Ray Bertrand
View Profile
Inner circle
Ottawa, Ontario
1452 Posts

Profile of Ray Bertrand