The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Abstract/conceptual magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

chiartguy
View Profile
New user
Chicago, IL
56 Posts

Profile of chiartguy
I'm a visual artist and not long ago I got back into magic because I'm interested in the parallels between magic and art. Conceptually, visually, and culturally they have a lot of fascinating connections.

On a related note, I just stumbled upon a great little piece by Teller from an interview he did for a TV show "Mysteries of Magic: Masters of Mystery (part 1 of 3)" that aired on the TLC network in the late 1990s. It's currently available on YouTube here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoFiXlRj4HI

There's a short section at about 16:35 - 17:46 where he's discussing the cups and balls and mentioning how he'd sometimes be practicing the moves at a diner late at night using a coffee mug and a balled up paper napkin. He demonstrates an amazing little routine that appears as though nothing magical happens at all -- he places the napkin ball under the mouth of the mug and when he raises the mug again the ball is where you expect it to be. That's it. But then he reveals that he used multiple sleights to simulate this banal series of events.

It's a wonderful example of exploring magic (in this case sleight of hand) in an "abstract" or "conceptual" way. I'm sure this kind of exercise is useful to a degree (as practice and for generating new routine ideas), but I love the idea of experimenting with magic concepts for their own sake or looking at them from a purely philosophical perspective.

I'd very much like to get some more recommendations of magicians or specific videos and texts that explore this same kind of thing. It doesn't have to be just sleight of hand; it can be anything magic-related.
Mr Salk
View Profile
Special user
Tied to
568 Posts

Profile of Mr Salk