The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Performance Reel (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Chano
View Profile
New user
54 Posts

Profile of Chano
Hey Guys,

I'm still new to magic and mentalism, but I've been working on my craft for over a year, and I think I'm ready to start performing. I'm working on putting up my first stage show next month, and I'm thinking about approaching restaurants for walk-around work. My day job, however, is catering. That means I've been seeing a lot of weddings, birthday parties, bar mitzvahs, and corporate parties. A lot of these have entertainers come in, some of them magicians. I've been making an effort to get the business cards of the event planners for a lot of these events in hopes of approaching them later as a magician/mentalist. My question (finally) is, how do you guys approach event planners, or entertainment managers? Do you have a video reel of your performances that you e-mail them? I feel cold calling would be ineffective, and I can't really pitch them when I see them at an event (if I run into them). A reel seemed like an obvious choice, but I'd love to get some feedback from you professionals. A link to your own would be even better. Thank you so much for your help! And Happy New Year!
Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21263 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
You definitely need video of performance yes.
Danny Doyle
<BR>Semper Occultus
<BR>In a time of universal deceit, telling the truth is a revolutionary act....George Orwell
saysold1
View Profile
Eternal Order
Recovering Cafe addict with only
10798 Posts

Profile of saysold1
But the video comes after the work in reaching out to meet them - and trying to meet them at their office or for coffee to find out their needs #1 and then showing them a taste of what you do.
Creator of The SvenPad Supreme(R) line of aerospace level quality, made in the USA utility props. https://svenpads.com/