The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Last-Minute Gigs (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Investigative Mentalist
View Profile
Special user
Seattle, WA
565 Posts

Profile of Investigative Mentalist
I'm just getting started out doing paid performances.

Last night I got an adult birthday party bid request on Gig Salad.

The party is TONIGHT.

Is it unusual to get a last-minute booking request like this?

I traded some text messages with them over the past couple hours and sent them a
PayPal invoice today and told them I need to be paid before the event.

The party is at 6:30 PM and I told them I need to be paid by 2:00 PM in order to confirm the gig.

It's now 2:00 PM and I have not received payment yet. I may send a text and say "sorry, I can't wait any longer" and withdraw
my bid.

Am I being too hard-nosed?

Frankly, I don't need the money and don't really care if I don't get the gig.

I'm just trying to act like a professional. I don't want people to think that I will just show up
and hope to get paid for a gig.

How do you professional performers handle situations like this?
Investigative Mentalist
View Profile
Special user
Seattle, WA
565 Posts

Update, I just got paid for the gig. I'm charging only $350 for one hour of mix&mingle mentalism because it's very close to my house.

So setting a deadline really worked to get paid up front.

Still curious to know how others handle last minute gigs.
55Hudson
View Profile
Special user
Minneapolis
984 Posts

Profile of 55Hudson
I probably get a last minute gig request (within 2 or 3 days) about every other month. Always from a gig service. I always respond with, "Prior Committment." I'm not going to juggle my schedule for what is likely to be a client that will be difficult to work with. (Price/organization/interest). If they really wanted a magician, they wouldn't think about it the day before.

Hudson
Investigative Mentalist