The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Duran Duran Paper Gods tour. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dannydoyle
View Profile
Eternal Order
21245 Posts

Profile of Dannydoyle
I have always been a live music/entertainment fan. I have been to more concerts than I care to count, I used to get paid to work them off duty when I was a cop. Safe to say I have been to way more than average.

My wife is a Duran Duran fan. They were never really on my radar. I mean the obvious songs like Rio and Hungry Like the Wolf and certainly the Bond View to a Kill were hard to miss back when. But they never really were a band I was aware of much and never even came through were I was working so I never saw them.

Turns out they are still putting out music. They have been on the "Paper Gods" tour and my wife went to see them in Philly a few weeks ago. Then later that same week they were here in Vegas and she went and really liked it. I decided to be husband of the year and get tickets for the Glendale Arizona show 4 or so hours away.

Turns out that this band is still turning out some great music. "Paper Gods" is as valid as anything they have done. (Yes I guess you can argue the word "valid" or what not but it really is good.) I expected to see a band just playing filler between the radio hits they had from 30 years ago and what I got was a great concert. I was very pleasantly surprised.

The only problem I had was the lead singer Simon Le Bon looks so much like the guy who plays Hawkeye in the Avengers that it was distracting! No kidding from the 8th row it was his twin. Obviously Simon is about 57 or so and such but from that far, it REALLY was odd. Funny my wife though thought Jeremy Renner looked like Simon Le Bon. Guess it is just a matter of perspective!

Anyhow enough digression it really was a good show.
Danny Doyle
<BR>Semper Occultus