The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Help Setting Up A Business As A Walkaround Magician (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Yuan Moons
View Profile
Veteran user
348 Posts

Profile of Yuan Moons
Hi,

I've been doing Magic and then mentalism for around 15 years but never professionally. I have a pretty decent set and am able to entertain people but know nothing about how to get started in the business side of things.

I want to study and learn about how to set myself up, specifically on the legal/business side of things. Insurance, paying taxes etc. The problem is that I don't know what I don't know if that makes any sense.

My question is whether there is a book or DVD that covers this information. My ideal book would be 'Dummies Guide to Starting A Business As A Walkaround Magician". Does anything similar exist in the literature. I'm not looking for a 5 minute fix and am willing to spend time and money to study the right material.

Many thanks for any help you can give.

Edit: In case it's relevant, I'm in England.
Stu Montgomery
View Profile
Veteran user
St Petersburg FL
354 Posts

Profile of Stu Montgomery
Www.greatbusiness.gov.uk is a good place to start. Links to the variations for England, Scotland & N Ireland. Smile
"Round about what is, lies a whole mysterious world of might be" Longfellow.
Stu Montgomery
View Profile
Veteran user
St Petersburg FL
354 Posts

Good (free) & accurate advice here also Smile
https://www.gov.uk/topic/business-tax/self-employed
Yuan Moons
View Profile
Veteran user
348 Posts

Profile of Yuan Moons
Thanks Stu. That looks like a good place to start. Do you know if there is anything in the magical literature on this subject?
Stu Montgomery
View Profile
Veteran user
St Petersburg FL
354 Posts

Not aware of anything but there's a couple of well versed members here who're likely more than happy to point you in the right direction I'm sure