The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » First public performance (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

AceFace
View Profile
Veteran user
Ponta delgarda Azores
348 Posts

Profile of AceFace
Hi All,Happy new year. I'm looking for some advice. I've been a hobbyist for around 15 years now and I love performing for friends and family, I have been asked on many occasions to do a stint at some dinner dances etc but have never felt confident enough to give it a go. I have decided that this year is the year that I get over those nerves so I have agreed to do a hours table hopping by at a dinner on the 21st of January. I'm looking for any advice on what type of effects should be performed and any more tips that anyone can give me...thank you in advance
Doug Trouten
View Profile
Elite user
Minnesota
471 Posts

Profile of Doug Trouten
AceFace, be sure to check out the "Table hoppers and party strollers" forum for helpful advice in this area.
It's still magic even if you know how it's done.
Terry Pratchett
AceFace
View Profile
Veteran user
Ponta delgarda Azores
348 Posts

Profile of AceFace
Thank you...I will
jimhlou
View Profile
Inner circle
3698 Posts

Profile of jimhlou
Just take 3 or 4 effects - that's all you need. Spend 4 - 5 minutes at a table and then move on. I usually start with the fire wallet and end with card to wallet - but that's up to the individual performer. Be careful with sponge balls and bunnies, if there are children present they will get them all gunky. Don't be nervous and just have fun and it will show in your performance. Jim
Mobius
View Profile
New user
100 Posts

Profile of Mobius
Good luck AceFace and congratulations on taking the plunge and committing yourself to a live gig. At some point you have to break away from what is comfortable and secure and start performing to strangers. It's the best way to develop.