The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » How to force a symbol? (5 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dc83
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of dc83
Hi everyone. I bought a new magic trick called 'breath' basically it's a glass that when you breath on it it reveals a symbol (mine is a cross and a diamond on either side) The trick is to get the spectator to think of a symbol and then have it magically appear on the mirror, but the instructions only say to force the symbol onto the spectator. Is there any way to get the spectator to choose a particular symbol (in this case a cross or a diamond) while making them think it was them who made that decision? (it's more impressive than blowing on the glass and saying look haha) I'm quite new to magic, and have searched online but can't find any techniques relating to symbols. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Doug Trouten
View Profile
Elite user
Minnesota
471 Posts

Profile of Doug Trouten
Theodore Anneman wrote a book titled "202 Methods of Forcing." You can download it as a PDF from lybrary for $2. You'll find a lot of information on this topic there.
It's still magic even if you know how it's done.
Terry Pratchett
dc83
View Profile
New user
2 Posts

Profile of dc83
Great. Thanks for the recommendation Smile
karnak
View Profile
Special user
Connecticut
747 Posts

Profile of karnak
What if you tried forcing the required symbol(s) in a manner similar to how the required choice of a particular colored gemstone in a Hot Rod is forced? (Are you familiar with that classic pocket trick? If not, check it out!)

With a Hot Rod, you show a small handheld rod with six gemstones, each of a different color, embedded along its length. You ask the spectator to choose any one of those differently colored gems, and suddenly all six gems change to the chosen color.