The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Notes on Learning the Wrong Way (2 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ravenspur
View Profile
Regular user
Granby, MA
167 Posts

Profile of Ravenspur
So I am a rank amateur, almost no skills when it comes to card sleights. With some advice from people here, I purchased Move Zero from John Bannon and learned (or sort of learned) the first trick on the video. It's called Collusion, a variation on a Fulves' self-worker called Gemini. I worked up a story for it called Synchronicity starting with a story about a friend who feels, at the exact moment, that another friend has died. I don't believe in extra-sensory stuff, but it illustrates the concept of synchronicity concept. The effect is two participants counting out cards to predict a target card.

Last night was my second meeting of our local S.A.M. assembly. It's packed. Eventually, we get down to tricks. A few people do tricks. A couple duff their effects. A few do some good effects. Our best guy, a semi-professional, even duffs a professional effect that he's learning. It high quality and not at all easy. (It comes with a non-disclosure agreement). He later performed it impressively.

Finally, I get up. It's now or never. I get everyone's attention with a few jokes and the story, not professional quality, but respectable for a first timer. I get the trick explained and a couple of participants and get to the reveal and discover that

I did the set up wrong.

Three cards to position and they are all wrong. My suit predictor is in the target position and the value predictor is in the suit position. I didn't lose my temper or die of embarrassment. I've screwed up enough times in life that I know how to do gracefully. I was more concerned with what I did wrong and how not to do it again.

Here's what I learned: