The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Was making progress then... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicwiia
View Profile
Regular user
120 Posts

Profile of magicwiia
I'm brand new to card magic and trying to get the DL down. I've watched Jason England's video a hundred times and have been practicing Dr Daley's Instantaneous DL and Martin Nash's Knockout DL. I thought I was making great progress and then have seemed to hit a wall. I've noticed that with the Instantaneous method (and the Knockout to a lesser degree) the two cards are separating a bit making it noticeable there are two cards. I think my technique feels more natural and smoother but I seemed to have taken a step backward. Two questions:

1) What could be happening with my technique that is causing the two cards to separate as I do the first turnover?
2) I've been experimenting with stiffer cards (Turner Golds) and awaiting the more flexible ones (Bicycle Elite) which won't arrive until May. In achieving a fluid DL, would stiff or flexible cards be preferred?

As far as #2 is concerned, I know that Tiger Woods could pick up a pair of 70-year-old, wooden-shaft golf clubs and play well. In golf parlance, I'm a hacker spraying the ball all over the place. I'd prefer to eliminate the variables and one of them is the issue of cards. Is flexible or stiff preferred for performing the DL?

Thanks as always.
Rachmaninov
View Profile
Inner circle
1076 Posts

Profile of Rachmaninov
Hi Magicwiia,
I don’t see any reason for preferring a brand against another, DL speaking. A new deck will be more demanding, precision speaking.
Try to analyze what you do in order to identify the problem. Then the solution will be obvious.

Remember that the learning process is never linear. You progress step by step, sometimes backwards just before you improve.
MaxfieldsMagic
View Profile
Inner circle
Instead of practicing, I made
3009 Posts