The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Chop cup - learning material? (19 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page [Previous]  1~2
Bill Palmer
View Profile
Eternal Order
Only Jonathan Townsend has more than
24314 Posts

Profile of Bill Palmer
After looking over this chain of posts, I have a few observations to add.

I'm not a novice to the chop cup. I've performed it for 50+ years, under all possible imaginable conditions -- on stage, in the path, close-up, surrounded, in the rain, in a windstorm -- you name it.

First, doing the routine with an ungimmicked cup is basically showing off to yourself. Why bother? If you handle any cup as if it is ungimmicked, then the audience will perceive it as such. You don't need to let them go through a long phase of examination of the cup. That slows the presentation down. Just bring the cup out and do the routine.

Second, you will learn more about the cup and ball by performing it than you will by reading about it or watching videos about it. Explore the cup. Explore the ball. Make your moves consistent. Make sure that every move you make has a purpose and a meaning. This is what makes your performance smooth and gives you built in misdirection.

Don't bang your cup on the table. It serves no purpose. Don did it so the spectator would blink when he loaded the ball. Or so he told me.

Come up with something different. It doesn't have to be radical. It just has to be memorable.

One hint -- when you are exploring the cup and figuring out your final loads, think of things nobody else would use. I have several boxes of loads I have tried. I finally settled on billiard balls -- not rubber billiard balls or wooden billiard balls -- honest to Pete billiard balls. Once I figured that out, the front end of the routine built itself.

The main thing is to practice, practice, practice and perform, perform, perform.