The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Becoming a master close-up entertainer (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

stevehw
View Profile
Veteran user
Collinsville, Mississippi
303 Posts

Profile of stevehw
I have been dabbling in magic since I was 12 years old, but never took the time and effort to master the art.

Now at 46 years old, with amateur knowledge and experience with close-up sleights and effects, where would you recommend I begin with videos, books, effects, etc., to make the best use of time, effort and money, to work on the mastery level of magicians like Bill Malone, Allan Ackerman, Martin Nash, etc.? Mainly focusing on card mastery, but not exclusively.
I want to purchace some videos mainly, but also whatever books, etc. that would be a must in this endeavor.
Thanks for any advice.

Steve
RandyWakeman
View Profile
V.I.P.
Plainfield, ILLINOIS
1617 Posts

Profile of RandyWakeman
Quote:
Bill Malone, Allan Ackerman, Martin Nash, etc.?

Hello, Steve

I think you have answered your own question to some degree, as there are enough videos / books from the above to keep you busy for some time.
Ozzy
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of Ozzy
Hi Steve, I highly recommend the Card College books to anyone seriously interested in card magic. There are four volumes to the set, and they are the best books on the market for learning to be amazing with a deck of cards. Ozzy
MagicCarisio
View Profile
Inner circle
1061 Posts

Profile of MagicCarisio
I totally agree! Volume 5 should be out at the end of the month!...Fabulous set of books!
Gerry Smile
Larry Barnowsky
View Profile
Inner circle
Cooperstown, NY where bats are made from
4770 Posts

Profile of Larry Barnowsky
A nice variety of close up magic with cards, coins, balls, knives, etc can be found on the 4 volume video (now DVD) set of Commercial Classics by Johnny Thomson. He is a great performer and teacher.