The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » What Got you Interested in Escapes or (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Donster
View Profile
Inner circle
4817 Posts

Profile of The Donster
Becoming a Escape Artist Please post your response/stories here.
Wolflock
View Profile
Inner circle
South Africa
2257 Posts

Profile of Wolflock
To be completely Honest, I have absolutely no idea!!

I had been doing magic for 7 Years and I suppose I got a few too many books on Houdini and Dunninger and so forth... Ended up I tried a few tips and hints from some biography of Houdini and found that the tips worked. I justpushed myself to the limits with ropes chains and eventually handcuffs, cableties, etc. from there on for a year (practise) and started doing shows from then on. Been doing it for 10, going on 11, years now.
Wolflock
Pro Magician & Escapologist
Member of JMC (Johannesburg Magic Circle)
South Africa
RickSilmser
View Profile
Special user
869 Posts

Profile of RickSilmser
Don...I was in radio and one of my co-workers was a Magician. I asked him to teach me magic to become a magician. He said "I'd have more use for an Escape Artist in my show". So he gave me the address to Prynce E. Wheeler and I bought a book called "Houdini his life and art" by Sugarman and Randi.

I will always in indebted to that co-worker, whom is still a dear friend of mine to this day.

~Rick~
pastorclyde
View Profile
Special user
576 Posts

Profile of pastorclyde
Not to get overly autobiographical but escaping for me has always been second nature.

I grew up trying to escape the abuse I experienced at home, trying to stay out of the grasp of opposing gangs and later worked to escape the power of addiction. Escapes simply display outwardly what I have been experiencing inwardly my entire life. In that way, when I escape, I relive the victory.