The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Our new arrivals » » Hello (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Quartin
View Profile
Regular user
102 Posts

Profile of Quartin
Hi every one ,
I am new to magic and my repertoire is no more than a few coin sleiths.As I am 45 ,I don´t know if sleith of hand is a good choice.It´s like starting to play a musical instrument very late .But sleith of hand magic is the one that atracts me more :coins,cups and balls and every day small items for impromtu.Is it a waist of time to dedicate my time to sleith of hand whend there are so many tricks available that does´t (or allmost)need so much dexterity ? maybe the thumb tip could be an option? any suggestions? Thank you.
Fernando
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6112 Posts

Profile of Jaz
Hi Quart and welcome,

I'm a bit older than you and do sleight of hand.
As long as you're hands are OK I see no reason why you shouldn't pursue sleight of hand.
Start with some easier sleights and see how it goes.

Sleights will be needed for Impromptu magic.

There are gimmicks that appear as normal items as well as those that are unseen by audiences.
Quartin
View Profile
Regular user
102 Posts

Profile of Quartin
Thank you jaz.I´m not looking after a professional carrier as a magician (I´m a painter)but I hould like to be a fine hobbist, fine enough to entretain my family and my friends with simple impromtu magic(often not so simple to execute)in a casual maner.nothing extremly ambitious.Besides that I like to own the ability of sleigh of hand.Redy made tricks that we buy in the magic shop and work alone doesn´t mean very much to me(some of them are very visual I have to agree)we can´t buy sleigh of hand with all the money of the world ,we develop it and it belongs to us.thats why I like it.Wich dvd´s/books are advisible to fit my kind of ambition?any suggestion would be welcome.thanks
Fernando
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle