The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Magic...at a moment's notice! » » Highschool Teenagers (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
TommyTheTremendous
View Profile
Regular user
151 Posts

Profile of TommyTheTremendous
I wasn't sure which forum to post this in, but since these questions have to revolve around doing a trick whenever, I thought this the best place to post it and I am sorry if this is the wrong place to ost it.

I am currently a senior in high school and have been doing magic since I was a sophomore. EVERYONE knows me as the "Magic Guy," "Magic Man," "Magic Tommy," etc. It's no secret to my town that I do magic. I enjoy performing in front of adults more than my own peers because it's not that I feel pressured by my peers, it's just that they annoy me and have no respect. Here are the most common issues I get almost every day at school and the questions I have for you guys to go along with the issues:

1. I do a trick and the crowd asks to inspect everything (half the time the trick has a gimmick and half the time it doesn't). Other magicians I've spoken to say that someone will rarely ask to inspect the trick aferwards. That has never helped me since they do, lol.

2. I do a trick and they of course ask the NUMBER ONE question that every magician gets...."How do you do it?" Well of course I have my one-liners, but then they (usually it is/are the female(s)) plead me. They basically grovel at my feet asking them how it is done. I have even been offered with bribes to tell a person how a trick is done. Being a person that is honest and true to my word, I don't tell them the secret. My question is, what can I do to "get the point across" that "I will NOT tell how it is done and you should quit begging me to do so."?