The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Time after time » » Talented or talentless? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

seandixie
View Profile
Regular user
129 Posts

Profile of seandixie
Hi all, I've been working on card magic for a little over two years now and following all the rules- pretty much constant practice. In front of the mirror, whilst watching TV, on the bus, in my lunch hour etc, etc. I've spoken to the guys in International Magic, been to conventions, and oh the dvds and books... Well, the thing is, why can I do a trick perfect, time and again (well nearly), but as soon as it's time to perform I mess it up! :-(

It seems to me that with the exception of Tom at work (as easy to work as putty! I may even start to lend him out) everyone I perform to just burns my hands bits. I'll lose the card, split a DL in the middle of the move, you name it.

A quick note on me, I'm a hairdresser by trade and like to think I'm Fairly dexterous with my hands. Performing? Well I've travelled the world teaching anything from small informal groups to being on stage in front of a thousand people with head a head mike on and being filmed doing my thing. So why the nerves when asked to perform?

What do you guys think? Is this art something that we can all get in the end or do some people just not have the ability no matter how hard they try?
S2000magician
View Profile
Inner circle
Yorba Linda, CA
3469 Posts

Profile of S2000magician
Everyone here was nervous the first few (say, two to three thousand) times they were asked to perform, and everyone here has made the mistakes you've mentioned and more.

Some of us are still nervous every time we perform, although for reasons other than being concerned about botching the sleight-of-hand.