The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Developing your memory... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
C.Jakobsson
View Profile
Regular user
Sweden
118 Posts

Profile of C.Jakobsson
Hi!
I have been doing magic for about three years now and I'm getting more into mental magic. I am right now searching for sources on developing your memory. I also wonder if I am able to develop my photographical memory and be able to use it. I already have som photographical memory and I learn and remember things with ease. How can I go even further?

//Delmondo
drwilson
View Profile
Inner circle
Bar Harbor, ME
2191 Posts

Profile of drwilson
Drink Dr. Wilson's Memory Elixir!

Seriously, read the relevant chapter in Corinda's Thirteen Steps to Mentalism, read some Harry Lorayne books, and if you are affluent, buy Dominic O'Brian's stuff. For a more comprehensive bibliography, search the Café for postings by Scott Cram, like the one in this thread.

Here is an introduction to memorizing numbers.

Strictly speaking, you either have eidetic imagery (photographic memory) or you don't. A person with eidetic imagery can look at a printed page, then "read" it later from memory to find the positions of specific words. It's pretty rare. You don't need it to be a good mnemonist, though.

Yours,

Paul
stanalger
View Profile
Special user
St. Louis, MO
996 Posts

Profile of stanalger
I've been told that HOW TO DEVELOP A PERFECT MEMORY by Dominic O'Brien
is by far the best of Dominic's many books on memory techniques.
Unfortunately, it's out of print and very hard to find used. There's
a used copy listed at Amazon right now...but the seller wants $310.00!

I tried to borrow a copy through the inter-library loan department
of my local university, but I was told that THEY didn't have access to
any copies.

However, there's good news for those with patience. Chris Wasshuber