The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » Schlage and Best = Ouch. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mrmetropolis
View Profile
Regular user
who has only made
155 Posts

Profile of mrmetropolis
Ok... I have been picking locks for about 3 months and have worked my way up from old file cabnet type locks to masterlocks. I am stuck on Schlage deadbolt and Best locks. Why am I having such a difficult time? I like to take a break from the cards and sit down to conqure a lock. Don't lecture me... I am not doing this for malicious behavior I just have a facination for lock picking. Basically, during an IBM meeting 5 months ago a key was lost for a drawing box and the chairman stood up and asked a room full of magicians if they could pick a lock. Well... In a room full of magicians no one stood up. So... I now have a new destination. It is better than video games. So. Why are deadbolt locks giving me such a hard time. I have tried raking and picking. Should I stick to one or another?

Thanks,
J Smile
"For those who believe, no explanation is necessary, for those who do not, none will suffice".-Joseph Dunninger http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K4wL5fX3xGQ
Ian McColl
View Profile
Inner circle
1484 Posts

Profile of Ian McColl
Dear unsigned. Most of your locks might have been wafer tumbler which have greater clearances, hence are easier to unlock. The Schlage and Best are pin tumber and have tighter clearances and tolerance. The Best may also be a removeable core which means you have two shearlines for the last three pins to contend with.

If you have mastered the feel of lock picking, then go with picking, raking has little control.

Make sure you are not using a flexible turning tool but a rigid one which is a snug fit in the keyhole for a more accurate feel.

Ian
x-treem
View Profile
Inner circle
1133 Posts

Profile of x-treem