The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Press Release Ideas for Theater Show (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magic4u02
View Profile
Eternal Order
Philadelphia, PA
15110 Posts

Profile of magic4u02
I mentioned this in the previous thread but felt it would make for mucy better conversation and feedback if I made it its own thread.

I am planning on creating and sending out press releases a few weeks prior to my upcoming theater show. My wife and I will be doing 2 matineee shows at an old restored theater in April.

I have not done that many press releases in the past so I am rather new at it and have a few questions to ask of those who have done many of them or have used them before.

- How far in advance is the best time to send your press release, or does it vary depending upon each media type?

- What "hook" can I use in the press release to get the editors interest the most? Do I even need one? I was thinking of the fact that we are one of few husband and wife magic teams in the area and perhaps the fact that the theater dates back to the 1700's. Any thoughts on this?

- Any suggestions on the best way to get your press release noticed and into the right hands?

- Do I need to contact a photo editor separately if I want to try and get photos done for the show or will the paper etc. handle that with the editor I contact?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts and suggestions. I want to make sure I am mazimizing all possible channels to get the seats filled at both performances.

Kyle
Kyle Peron

http://www.kylekellymagic.com

Entertainers Product Site

http://kpmagicproducts.com

Join Our Facebook Fan Page at

http://facebook.com/perondesign
MagicalPirate
View Profile
Special user
Shamokin, PA
828 Posts

Profile of MagicalPirate
Hi Kyle: