The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Pasteboard Frolics » » Not Quite Sure What the Subject Really is... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

fingerjack
View Profile
Special user
CT, USA
551 Posts

Profile of fingerjack
Harcore XCMers can save themselve the trouble and stop reading NOW.

So I’ve been doing what some might call XCM for several years now. Now well I never claimed to be technically great, but let’s face it, showmanship is a major factor in a good performance, and that’s something that often gets ignored in a lot of flourish material (save for TEOPCF). I see way too fans made with no pause to allow spectators to admire the beauty, cuts done so quickly with both hands that a spectator can’t follow or appreciate the complexity of them, and arm spreads done with such speed and ease that it DOES look way too easy, and therefore becomes boring.

So….um, wait. That’s not what I wanted to talk about.

This week I attended a staff retreat day for my agency and listened to the usual lectures and what not. Afterwards, many of them met in the bar in the hotel and someone asked about my card work (well ok, they asked if I could do some magic). So I did my usual opener and some flourishes; springs, fans, spinning, productions and what not. I got the usual responds which is good and the same remarks people always make, “I’d hate to play cards with you,” or “Wow, talk about a lot of time on your hands,” yada, yada, yada. I ended with a deck vanish and that was it. A dirty, extra dry vodka martini please, rocks on the side.

That’s not the point of my post either, wait, I’m getting to it.