The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Help! (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jarvis
View Profile
New user
UK
27 Posts

Profile of jarvis
I work as a waiter, but I am a capable amature magician. All I need is a good angle to start a trick or two at my tables.

Does anyone have any ideas? Smile
James Rewind
View Profile
New user
4 Posts

Profile of James Rewind
The problem if you are a waiter doing tricks is that the audience perceive you as just that. If the restaurant hires a magician then he is viewed with a higher status immediately and the audience is much more likely to relax and see the situation as acceptable. You may also annoy your bosses if you are doing magic rather than your job. These are just a couple of thoughts from my own experiences.
If the place you work at has a bar or a lounge area then a good thing might be to go there and show people a few things when it gets quiet.
Oh, one final warning if you work at a restaurant that hires a magician to go round you will annoy him or her a lot for several reasons if you start doing tricks for the customers! This may not apply to you but it may apply to anyone in that situation.
J
Dano
View Profile
Loyal user
Centerville, OH
240 Posts

Profile of Dano
James: Ditto, one or the other. Bartenders excepted!
"Magic" is merely an illusion, but "Perception" is reality!
DonB
View Profile
New user
58 Posts

Profile of DonB
You've been given good reasons to consider why you might not want to pursue this angle. If you're still intent, however, find information on napkin folding. My son learned how to roll a cloth napkin into a candle with a flame while we were on a cruise. There are many things like that you could do as an ice breaker.

Also, check out Dan Harlan's starcle.

DonB
Sneakers
View Profile
Regular user
Melbourne, Australia
106 Posts

Profile of Sneakers