The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Professional Photographs (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Mike Brezler
View Profile
Inner circle
Waynesboro, Pa.
1114 Posts

Profile of Mike Brezler
I have been performing free magic shows for non-profit orgainizations, kids BD parties, etc. I have been doing this for two years and I want to start making money with my magic. I need a professional photo for a website, and for advertising in the local newspaper. I perform as a Harry Potter type wizard and I also use Axtel puppets (I am a vent). My wife assists me, but she does not perform.
Is it best to stand in front of a backdrop and just hold my wand? Or should I be infront of a table with a few magic props on it? I want to have pictures with and without my wife because she doesn't always assist me. Your thoughts would be appreciated.
Jaz
View Profile
Inner circle
NJ, U.S.
6111 Posts

Profile of Jaz
Have a couple of professional photos taken.

As the wizard character I picture you sitting at a candle lit desk. You're smiling. Your arms are crossed and in one hand is a wand with a glowing tip (retouch). Off to the side is a pile of old books and a crystal ball or maybe an owl figurine.

Are your puppets part of the wizard show or a seperate show?

Hope this helps.
Mike Brezler
View Profile
Inner circle
Waynesboro, Pa.
1114 Posts

Profile of Mike Brezler
Jaz, Thanks for your input. When I do a show for young children I use a dragon puppet and a oppossum. I was going to have my wife/assistant hold the dragon in a phot of us together.
Parson Smith
View Profile
Inner circle
1937 Posts

Profile of Parson Smith
Mr. Mike,
I am not sure, but I think that some of the pro photo places in the mall has very cheap or free first photos so they can try to hook you into a package deal.
If so, you might could get a really good promo photo cheap.
Here kitty, kitty,kitty. Smile
+++a posse ad esse+++