The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » All tied up! » » SJs please help (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jwade
View Profile
New user
13 Posts

Profile of jwade
I am new to escapes but I really love them. I want to do a sj escape but don't know which one is the best for a beginner with a beginner's budget. I know they usually sell for anywhere from $150.- $350 but advice would be useful. Also where can I find info on how to do suspended sj escapes? Also I heard from someone say that an ungimmicked sj is impossible to get out of. Is this true or has my friend been misinformed?
Allan Given
View Profile
Regular user
169 Posts

Profile of Allan Given
Hi there...

To begin with, I would recommend that you practice, practice, practice your standard SJ escape before even venturing into the suspended SJ escape arena. There is just too much that can go wrong. Your friend has been misinformed...it is possible to get out of an ungimmicked SJ, in fact that is all I use in my work. A good resource for you would be to pick up Volume 4 of John Novak's Escape books which deals with SJ escapes. That will give you a good introduction. You can buy both gimmicked and ungimmicked jackets at cannonsgreatescapes.com. Once you get your SJ, just practice like crazy!

Allan
Roslyn
View Profile
Inner circle
UK
3405 Posts

Profile of Roslyn
Hi, if you do a search on sj escapes here at the Café you'll find loads of info on it which should help you out.

If you're new to escapes I wouldn't think about doing it usd just yet. You might want to get the Novak book on the sj or the Jay Lesly video, which can both be bought here http://www.cannonsgreatescapes.com/books&videos.html

As for am ungommicked sj being impossible to escape from, well I would say that your friend was right and wrong. Yes you can get out of one, but only if you know how and that only comes from putting in hours of practice.