The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Quick, Hard-Hitting stuff for a waiter. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
RP
View Profile
New user
78 Posts

Profile of RP
I wait tables for a living and would like to do magic for my customers to enhance their dining experiance (and maybe my tip amount too;-)). Since I do have to take care of multiple tables at once ususally, I really only have time for one or two quick tricks. So my questions are:

Should I even bother with doing magic because of the limited time?
and
If so, what would you recommend for some quick, hard-hitting effects?

I'm thinking that I would only really do them during the slower periods, but who knows...
Al Angello
View Profile
Eternal Order
Collegeville, Pa. USA
11045 Posts

Profile of Al Angello
"The napkin rose" takes from 30 to 60 seconds, and "a rose and a kiss" for women and will knock their sox off. "Stargazer" it's quick, and is a sure thing with kids.
Al
Al Angello The Comic Juggler/Magician
http://www.juggleral.com
http://home.comcast.net/~juggleral/
"Footprints on your ceiling are almost gone"
Paul Jester
View Profile
Special user
UK
759 Posts

Profile of Paul Jester
The Birthday Card trick and Anniversary Waltz (Doc Eason vol2&3) will help you to get good tips.
Away from cards I'd recommend learning a couple of quick coin tricks to do with their change, so check out Bobo's book. (More specifically a retention vanish and ditch/hand wash, the pulse trick, coin through hand... I'm sure you'll find more)
Also a pen/pencil through bill or napkin is pretty good, so check out the models out there, I'd recommend perfect penetration for your setting.
Cut & Restored rope goes down well too, as does unequal ropes.
What ever you learn, watch your angles, and good luck.
Paul
RP
View Profile
New user
78 Posts

Profile of RP