The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Spectators nagging (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

TCM
View Profile
New user
22 Posts

Profile of TCM
Hey. I didn't know which section to post this in, as it includes cards and coins. Sorry in advance if it's wrong. I also didn't find many results for this question with this question in the search feature, so sorry again if there is some old topic covering.

Anyway, for a few weeks I have been practising my Bitten Coin trick, and my cards for a few months. I took them to school because my mates know about my hobby, know that I take it seriously and they ask me to do it sometimes (I'm not considered a nerd for it... Smile ) Well, the point I am getting at is that I did my tricks for a group of very good mates, and they kept on asking me how it was done for about half an hour, and saying they wasnt gonna tell anyone else.

Then, I did them for my other mate walking home, and all the way he was going 'how did you do that? It's gonna annoy me forever! Please tell me!' I kept saying no, and that magic should only be learnt if you were serious about it. He said he was, and I suggested he should go and buy a beginners book like RRTCM. I also did a simple French Drop, and he annoyed me for about 10 minutes and kept on thinking of solutions and practising them, asking me if he was right. Oh yeah, I also did the coin bite trick to him, and he said he was adament (sp?) to find out how it was done. Did I do the right thing by telling him to go and buy the book? Also, was it right that I lead him to believe the solution he worked out for the French Drop (which was wrong) was 'ok' and told him to practise?

Tony.
jonesc2ii
View Profile
Loyal user
Oxford, England
235 Posts

Profile of jonesc2ii
There is no easy answer, you just have to follow your instincts.