The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Table hoppers & party strollers » » Frequency of work (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

EsKlibur
View Profile
Regular user
145 Posts

Profile of EsKlibur
Hi everyone. I understant most people here have a good experience of working in restaurant, and as that's what I am aiming to do, I'd appreciate your thoughts on this.
I am still a student right know so the typical hourly fee that has been discussed in other threads sounds very good Smile, but I am wondering if one can get employed just for a few nights, say two per weeks. As a said I am still studying and at this time, am not sure if magic will be my primary activity or not. Also 3 times a year I intend to leave for about a month.
SO my question is, is it reasonable to expect a manager to hire you with such a flexible timetable?
Thanks in advance
Nick
"Poetry is the Magic of Lies,
Magic is the Poetry of Lies" - Jean Cocteau
q
View Profile
Regular user
118 Posts

Profile of q
Probably depends on the type of restaurant. Probably a single restaurant where the owner is the manager making decisions would be more leinent because it's small and he can make all the decisions.

While as a chain restaurant the manager may not be flexible depending on chain rules, ect.

But, If you show talent, people sometimes go out of their way for you.
Peter Marucci
View Profile
Inner circle
5389 Posts

Profile of Peter Marucci
Two nights a week is not an unreasonable situation.
In fact, the number will vary anywhere from one to seven!
The month off at a time may be a little different; management might go for it, if it's during their slow period. Just be sure you have a job to come back to!
Allan
View Profile
Elite user
405 Posts

Profile of Allan
There is no reason to believe that your schedule cannot be worked out, but don't mention it to the manager until he is ready to hire you.