The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Best Written Book on Magic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
MPHanson
View Profile
New user
18 Posts

Profile of MPHanson
What I DON'T mean by this is the best book of magic, or even necessarily a book containing effects. It could be fiction, or the history of magic, or something philosophical, or whatever. I'm also not referring simply to a book that best "captures" the field of magic (thought that would be interesting too). I mean the most literate book written around the theme of magic (as an art/tradition, that is, not Harry Potter magic). Since I'm new to this, I can't give my own recommendations; I'm just looking for things to read that will deepen my aesthetic appreciation of magic.
Hideo Kato
View Profile
Inner circle
Tokyo
5649 Posts

Profile of Hideo Kato
For me, OUR MAGIC by John Nevil Maskelyn.

As I thought OUR MAGIC is one of most important books for magicians, I started translating it on my site. Mr.Maric, the today's No.1 Japanese magician, read it and invited me to publish it in the book form. It was realized very soon, and I am working with Mr.Maric at Japan Cardicians School.

Hideo Kato
MPHanson
View Profile
New user
18 Posts

Profile of MPHanson
Thank you for that fascinating choice!

Mike Hanson
Vandy Grift
View Profile
Inner circle
Milwaukee
3504 Posts

Profile of Vandy Grift
For an enjoyable read about a period of history in magic and some very intresting magicians of the period, I definately reccomend "Hiding The Elephant" by Jim Steinmeyer. Excellent book.

I just started reading Steinmeyers book about Chung Ling Soo, it's shaping up to be a nice read as well.

I do believe "Hiding the Elephant" fits your description above; "literate book written around the theme of magic (as an art/tradition, that is, not Harry Potter magic)." It's also available at your local bookstore in paperback.

Vandy