The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The July 2005 entrée: Richard Osterlind » » Musical training and mentalism/magic » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Joshua Quinn
View Profile
Inner circle
with an outer triangle
2054 Posts

Profile of Joshua Quinn
Richard,

In another thread you posted this:

Quote:
On 2005-07-12 13:25, Richard Osterlind wrote:
You know, I often think that if someone had to study the basic rudiments of any instrument, as a prelude to magic, they would not complain about sleights, nail writers, etc.!

I thought this was a topic worthy of its own thread. I'm curious to know how much you feel that your instrumental training helped you with the "manual dexterity" aspects of performing magic and mentalism. The reason I ask is that I'm a pianist, and everyone assumes that my piano skills must have made learning sleights and so forth easier. In reality, I found this not to be the case at all. Of course I can't tell for sure, because I don't have an alternate, non-piano-playing self to compare notes with, but as far as I can tell it didn't help a lick with the finger-flinging.

Where it did help a great deal, in a somewhat unexpected way, was in presentation. Playing music, and especially learning to improvise, taught me a lot about things like tension and resolution, the effects of timbre and pace, the huge difference that a tiny shift in timing can make, etc. Is your experience similar, or am I out on a limb all by myself on this one?
Every problem contains the seeds of its own solution. Unfortunately every problem also contains the seeds of an infinite number of non-solutions, so that first part really isn't super helpful.
Richard Osterlind
View Profile
V.I.P.
2213 Posts

Profile of Richard Osterlind
Quinn,

Your post is excellent!