The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Best method for learning the keyboard/piano? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

wulfiesmith
View Profile
Inner circle
Beverley, UK
1163 Posts

Profile of wulfiesmith
As an absolute beginner, which is the best method to use for learning the piano or keyboard?
Conventional or pattern playing?

any help or advice would be greatly appreciated - wulfie
Jordini
View Profile
Inner circle
2766 Posts

Profile of Jordini
A good teacher.
Shane Wiker
View Profile
Inner circle
Las Vegas
1199 Posts

Profile of Shane Wiker
I've played piano for about 8 years, and can tell you that to become proficient at it, you need a good teacher (As Jordini said).

Even if you read books and practice scales, there will still be things you're doing wrong. You need someone who can correct you, critique you, and give you suggestions.

Shane Wiker
Cholly, by golly!
View Profile
Loyal user
251 Posts

Profile of Cholly, by golly!
I've been a semi-pro musician for twenty years.
I've taught guitar and piano for fifteen years.
There is no right or wrong way to play any musical instrument.
If it sounds good, it IS good.

What type of music are you interested in playing?

If it's classical, you MUST learn classical technique and sight-reading.
You can't fake the great masters.

If it's virtually any other kind of music (jazz,pop,rock,country,whatever) Pattern or chord playing is the way to go. Standard piano lessons will do nothing but discourage you.
Learn to play by ear. Just buy a picture chord book and a fakebook and start playing. John Lennon's post-Beatle piano work is a great starting place. It's fairly simple to learn and can open the door to more complex stuff. You can always come back later and learn to sight-read.

Good luck!
Partizan
View Profile
Inner circle
London UK
1682 Posts

Profile of Partizan