The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » F/X » » Basic Stage Lighting (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

MikeDes
View Profile
Inner circle
Montreal
1176 Posts

Profile of MikeDes
Hi,

I'm new to all this stuff and I just want to make sure I understand things before making some purchases.

I want to be able to dim some Par 38 Can lights.

This means that I need the lights, a console with dimming capabilities and a dimmer pack right? (Are there any all in one console/dimmer packs?)

(I least that's what I understood by reading the Magic Roadie site)

Thanks

Mike
chmara
View Profile
Inner circle
Tucson, AZ
1901 Posts

Profile of chmara
Yep --

But why get 38s -- you can rebulb Par 64s if you are worried about wattage -- and still have the headroom for the full boat of light,

Also - and this is important -- DO NOT GET THE CHEAP ALUMINUM DJ STYLE FIXTURES. They dent and break very quickly. I always use the heavier -- but sturdier steel fixtures because they are roadable --

Yes they still break -- but only when severely mishandled.
Gregg (C. H. Mara) Chmara

Commercial Operations, LLC

Tucson, AZ

C. H. Mara Illusion & Psychic Entertainments
Tyler_Magician
View Profile
Special user
509 Posts

Profile of Tyler_Magician
I do the stage lighting at my church. We use many different types of lights, but we use a lot of can lights. Here is a cheaper way instead of buying a console. I use the 'Axis Lighting Controller' program. Leviton Manufacturing makes the program. If you have a laptop, this is perfect for you. You can program different lights. Search for it online.
-Tyler
John Martin
View Profile
Special user
999 Posts

Profile of John Martin
Hi Mike,